Mixing / Re-recording

All the results created in the sound post-production work – often countless audio tracks – come together in the mixing studio. In this final phase of the film sound process, our internationally renowned re-recording mixers, in close collaboration with the director, take the pre-mixed dialogs, sound effects, backgrounds, Foleys and film music, and sculpt them into the ultimate cinematic sound of your project. It is here that the creative and technical responsibility for the entire audio production rests, right up to the final DCP mix and TV or IT master. In addition to the common audio formats for cinema and home entertainment, such as 7.1, 5.1 and stereo, ARRI also offers production in Dolby Atmos with up to 128 channels of output.

Sound Design / Sound Editing

Our sound designers are experts at creating exactly the right soundscape for your project. Our editors take responsibility for the creative processes, and for the communication and organization between the various sound team members involved.

It is our task to ensure that the sound concept underscores the plot and mood envisioned by the filmmakers, so that a coherent and consistent atmosphere can emerge, and nothing is left to chance on your film's audio track, even in its most challenging passages.
 

Dialog Editing / Production Sound Editing

The originally recorded sound is processed in adherence to the film editorial’s workflows and specifications. This encompasses editing, synching and retouching the original tracks using all the leading-edge sound technology available today. Our top priority when editing dialog is to retain as much of the on-set sound as we can, in order to carry the actors' performances and the director's vision over onto the big screen as authentically as possible.


Foley

The Foley artists at work in our ARRI Sound Foley studio can make any sound come to life in your film, without having to revert to canned effects. With our collection of sound properties and materials built up over decades, including striking and rare vintage sounds, we have helped hundreds of movies achieve lifelike reality.

Sound Mastering & Distribution

Our range of services of course also includes audio laybacks, editing and distributing all our own and commissioned sound products. ARRI Sound is conversant with all technical specifications, target formats and deliverables, both in Germany and internationally. This applies to all media in every distribution channel in the entertainment field, be it cinema, TV, Blu-ray, DVD, Web or VOD.

Restoration / Sound Restoration

Being a part of ARRI, we dispose over profound expertise in the history of film and many years of experience in the faithful creative restoration and digitization of historical films for both new releases and archiving. ARRI Sound is able to handle all sound formats, including older media such as optical or magnetic sound recordings.

Mischung / Re-Recording

In der Mischung laufen alle Fäden der Tonpostproduktion mit ihren oft unzähligen Tonspuren zusammen. Unsere international renommierten Mischtonmeister entwickeln aus den von ihnen vorgemischten Dialogen, Soundeffekten, Atmosphären und Foleys  im Zusammenspiel mit der Filmmusik in dieser finalen Stufe der Filmtongestaltung gemeinsam mit der Regie  den finalen Kinoton. Hier liegt die kreative wie technische Verantwortung der gesamten Tonproduktionskette bis zum finalen DCP-Mix, TV- oder IT-Master. Neben den gängigen Tonformaten für Kino- und Home Entertainment, wie z.B. 7.1, 5.1 und Stereo bietet ARRI auch eine Endfertigung in Dolby Atmos mit bis zu 128 Ausgabekanälen an.

Tongestaltung / Sound Editing

Die Kompetenz unserer Sounddesigner liegt in der Gestaltung der Tonkulisse Ihres Projekts. Unsere Editoren verantworten neben den kreativen  Prozessen auch die Kommunikation und Organisation zwischen den verschiedenen Gewerken der Tongestaltung.  
 
Es ist unsere Aufgabe sicher zu stellen, dass die Klangkonzeption der von den Filmschaffenden intendierten Dramaturgie und Stimmung gerecht wird, und somit eine stimmige Atmosphäre entstehen kann, und die Tonspur Ihres Films in Stilistik, Konzeption auch in schwierigen Passagen kein Zufallsprodukt wird.

Dialogbearbeitung / Production Sound Editing

Die Bearbeitung des Originaltons geschieht in enger Zusammenarbeit mit den Arbeitsabläufen und Vorgaben des Schneideraums. Dies beinhaltet Editieren, Synchronisieren und Nachbearbeitung des Originaltons mit allen tontechnisch zu Gebote stehenden Möglichkeiten. Unsere oberste Prämisse in der Dialogbearbeitung ist es, soviel Set-Ton wie möglich zu erhalten, um die Performance der Darsteller beim Dreh und die Inszenierung des Regisseurs so authentisch wie möglich auf die Leinwand zu bringen.

Geräusche / Foleys

Im ARRI Sound eigenen Foley-Studio sind unsere Foley-Artists in der Lage, alle Geräusche in Aufnahme, Schnitt und Gestaltung für die Medienkette Film lebendig werden zu lassen, ohne allein auf Ton-Konserven zurückgreifen zu müssen. Mit unserem über Jahrzehnte aufgebauten Fundus an gesammelten Properties und Materialien für die Geräusch-Produktion –einschließlich ausgefallener Vintage-Effekte – konnten wir schon Hunderten Filmen auf allerhöchstem Niveau zu lebensnaher Realität verhelfen.

Sound Mastering & Distribution

Zu unserem Portfolio gehört natürlich auch die Überspielung, Bearbeitung sowie Auslieferung aller eigenen wie auch der im Auftrag endgefertigten Tonprodukte. In Deutschland sowie international ist ARRI Sound hierbei in allen technischen Spezifikationen, Zielformaten und Deliverables zu Hause. Das gilt für sämtliche Medien in allen Auswertungsketten des Entertainmentbereichs, seien es Kino-, TV-, BluRay-, DVD- , Web- oder VOD-Formate.

Restauration / Sound Restoration

Als Teil des Unternehmens ARRI verfügen wir über eine profunde Expertise in Sachen Filmhistorie und zugleich über langjährige Erfahrung in der werktreuen Restauration zeitgeschichtlicher Filmdokumente für neue Medien-Releases und Archivierungen. Das gilt für die kreative Umsetzung ebenso, wie  für die sachgerechte Digitalisierung. ARRI Sound bedient nahezu alle Tonformate. Dazu gehören natürlich auch zeituntypische Medien wie Licht- oder Magnetton und viele mehr.